## The Scandinavian Association of Urology Collaboration Group for Urinary Stones.

Report 2009 -2011:

The 3<sup>rd</sup> Scandinavian Course on Urinary Stone Disease was held in Örebro May 26 – 28, 2010, and chaired by Robert Swartz. The number of participants was 88, and 95% evaluated the course excellent/good.

In 2010 Steiner Karlsen resigned. Steiner chaired the 2<sup>nd</sup> Scandinavian Course on Urinary Stones 2006 in Oslo, and has been a most valued member of the group for many years, and will be missed. Per Espen Låhne and Øyvind Ulvik were elected as Norwegian members.

In 2010 Marianne Brehmer (who had been a member of the courses organizing committee for several years) and Klas Lindqvist were officially appointed by the Swedish Urological Association. Robert Swartz continues as affiliated member, and member of the courses organizing committee.

In December 2010 Kim Hovgaard Andreassen was elected as new chairman, replacing Palle J S Osther, who continues as a member of the group.

After several years without any Finnish members of the group, Arto Mikkola and Andres Kotsar joined early 2011.

There is no representative from Iceland.

The second Scandinavian Course on Ureteroscopy "Ureteroskopi – praxis i Skandinavien II" (chaired by Roberts Swartz) will be held in Örebro October 26 – 28, 2011.

The 4<sup>th</sup> Scandinavian Course on Urinary Stone Disease (chaired by Kim H. Andreassen) is scheduled for May 2 – 4, 2012, and will be held in Billund, Denmark.

After some years of "scientific silence", the group late 2010 decided on new projects. Several surveys are under preparation and scheduled for 2011. These include: Treatment of Acute Renal Colic – Scandinavian Practice Survey

Medical expulsive therapy (MET) of ureteral calculi – Scandinavian Practice Survey Follow-up after stone treatment - Scandinavian Practice Survey Imaging in acute renal colic - Scandinavian Practice Survey

More information about future courses and scientific research can be found at <u>www.stonecourse.org</u>

Kim Hovgaard Andreassen Chairman